Connect with us


‘Solved the riddle’: Why world No. 2 is ‘every chance’ of dethroning in-form star — US Open Guide



Australian golf great Geoff Ogilvy believes Xander Schauffele has “every chance” of winning back-to-back majors as the world’s best golfers descend on Pinehurst Resort for the 124th US Open.

After years of near-misses, Schauffele finally broke through for his first major victory at the 2024 PGA Championship.

Watch every round of the US Open LIVE & Exclusive to Fox Sports, available on Kayo. New to Kayo? Start Your Free Trial Today >

Having never finished below T14 in five editions of the US Open, Ogilvy believes Schauffele is well-placed to build on the momentum generated by his breakthrough win.

“I think his chances are great,” Ogilvy said on Fox Sports’ US Open preview show.

“It’s funny, on this very show I feel like we were picking Xander every major to win because we knew he was going to win one at some point. We jumped off the Xander bandwagon and he goes and wins one.

“(He’s got) Every chance. He doesn’t have a weakness in his game. He’s probably the best top to bottom golfer in the world.

“He drives it miles, he hits it really straight, he moves it both ways, his iron play is great, his short game is as good as anyone and he putts really well.

“Now that he’s solved the riddle, the floodgates could open. He’s that good of a player. The sky is the limit for Xander, he really is that good.”

As good as Schauffele may be, he will have to be at his best to stop the red-hot form of Scottie Scheffler.

The 27-year-old finished T7, T2 and third at the US Open in 2021, 2022 and 2023 respectively and will hope this year’s tournament is the one when he breaks through.

Scheffler also goes into the US Open less than a month after his infamous arrest near Valhalla Golf Club prior to the second round of the PGA Championship.

Here’s EVERYTHING you need to know about the 2024 US Open!

Aussie golf great Geoff Ogilvy backs Xander Schauffele to win back-to-back majors. (Photo by Michael Reaves / GETTY IMAGES NORTH AMERICA / Getty Images via AFP)Source: AFP


‘Had to ask … is that right?’: Fellow pros in awe as Scott’s ‘insane’ majors streak saved

Aussie Scott’s remarkable golf streak saved


Foxtel (Channel 503) and streaming platform Kayo is the exclusive home of the US Open in Australia

Watch every round of the US Open LIVE & Exclusive to Fox Sports, available on Kayo. New to Kayo? Start Your Free Trial Today >


Friday, June 14

Round 1 — from 8:30pm Thursday to 10am

Saturday, June 15

Round 2 — from 8:30pm Friday to 10am

Sunday, June 16

Round 3 — from 12am to 10am

Monday, June 17

Final round — from 11pm Sunday to 9am

ODDS (via TAB)

Scottie Scheffler $4

Xander Schauffele $13

Rory McIlroy $13

Collin Morikawa $15

Viktor Hovland $17

Bryson DeChambeau $19

Ludvig Aberg $21

Brooks Koepka $21

Jon Rahm $31

Cameron Smith (AUS) $34

Scheffler is the heavy favourite to win at the US Open. (Photo by Andrew Redington / GETTY IMAGES NORTH AMERICA / Getty Images via AFP)Source: AFP


Adam Scott

World Golf Ranking — 61st

Best result at US Open — T4 (2015)

Odds — $101

Cam Davis

World Golf Ranking — 68th

Best result at US Open — Qualified (2023)

Odds — $201

Cameron Smith

World Golf Ranking — 72nd

Best result at US Open — 4th/T4 (2015, 2023)

Odds — $34

Jason Day

World Golf Ranking — 21st

Best result at US Open — 2nd/T2 (2011, 2013)

Odds — $67

Jason Scrivener

World Golf Ranking — 369th

Best result at US Open — Qualified (2018)

Odds — $301

Min Woo Lee

World Golf Ranking — 36th

Best result at US Open — T5 (2023)

Odds — $51

Australia’s Min Woo Lee secured a top five finish at last year’s US Open. (Photo by Gregory Shamus / GETTY IMAGES NORTH AMERICA / Getty Images via AFP)Source: AFP


2023 — Wyndham Clark (United States)

2022 — Matt Fitzpatrick (England)

2021 — Jon Rahm (Spain)

2020 — Bryson DeChambeau (United States)

2019 — Gary Woodland (United States)

2018 — Brooks Koepka (United States)

2017 — Brooks Koepka (United States)

2016 — Dustin Johnson (United States)

2015 — Jordan Spieth (United States)

2014 — Martin Kaymer (Germany)

2013 — Justin Rose (England)

2012 — Webb Simpson (United States)

2011 — Rory McIlroy (Northern Ireland)

2010 — Graeme McDowell (Northern Ireland)

2009 — Lucas Glover (United States)

2008 — Tiger Woods (United States)

2007 — Angel Cabrera (Argentina)

2006 — Geoff Ogilvy (Australia)

2005 — Michael Campbell (New Zealand)

2004 — Retief Goosen (South Africa)

2003 — Jim Furyk (United States)

2002 — Tiger Woods (United States)

2001 — Retief Goosen (South Africa)

2000 — Tiger Woods (United States)


To be confirmed

Continue Reading