Connect with us


UW-Stevens Point’s Fader Named Max Sparger Men’s Ice Hockey Scholar-Athlete



Men’s Ice Hockey

MADISON, Wis.–University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point’s Jordan Fader has been named the recipient of the 2023 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Max Sparger Men’s Ice Hockey Scholar-Athlete Award.


Fader, a graduate student from Rice Lake, Wis. (Rice Lake), is pursuing a master of business administration and boasts a 4.00 grade point average. He received an undergraduate degree in accounting with a minor in economics. He is a four-time All-American Scholar from the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) and secured a spot on the 2022 NCAA Division III Academic All-America® Team, as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America. Fader is a four-time member of the WIAC Scholastic Honor Roll and has received academic scholarships from UW-Stevens Point. He has earned a spot on the Dean’s List every semester.


Fader claimed a spot on the WIAC All-Sportsmanship Team this year. He landed on a pair of All-America Teams in 2022, securing second team honors from CCM/AHCA and third team recognition from USCHO. He also was selected the WIAC Player of the Year a season ago when he led the conference in goals, points, shots, short-handed goals, plus/minus and hat tricks. A three-time team captain, Fader has led UW-Stevens Point to an unbeaten NCAA Division III national championship in 2019, as well as four WIAC regular-season titles and two Commissioner’s Cup trophies.


Fader is a member of the National Society of Leadership and Success, Institute of Management Accountants, Wisconsin Institute of Certified Public Accountants, UW-Stevens Point Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and an executive for the UW-Stevens Point Accounting Club. He has served as a tutor for accounting and economics in the UW-Stevens Point Tutor Learning Center, and volunteered with youth hockey.


Also nominated for this year’s scholar-athlete award were: UW-River Falls’ Logan Severson (Sr., Lakeville, Minn./North); UW-Stout’s Kobe Keller (Sr., Mosinee, Wis./Middleton); and UW-Superior’s Charles Martin (Sr., Blainville, Quebec/Ecole international Lucille-Teasdale).


The WIAC Scholar-Athlete Award is named after Max Sparger, who served as commissioner of the Wisconsin State University Conference for 22 years from 1971-93. He oversaw the transition of the conference from NAIA to full NCAA membership. Sparger arrived at UW-Stout in 1959 and served the institution in a variety of capacities, including an assistant football and basketball coach, head wrestling coach and head football coach. He served as UW-Stout’s athletics director from 1969-71 and was inducted into the WIAC Hall of Fame in 2012.


In order to be nominated for the scholar-athlete award, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.50 grade point average. In addition, he must be in his last year of competition, or on schedule to graduate this academic year, and have competed for a minimum of two years. The award is based on academic achievements, athletics accomplishments and involvement in other campus activities, organizations and community service projects.


# # # # #

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *